Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_terryberry

How to remove coffee stain from granite

Mike Terryberry
14 days ago

I'm new to Houzz. Not even sure this is the appropriate forum for the issue I'm having, but here it goes...

I have a coffee stain in my granite countertop from my 1-cup coffee maker. I did some research and was advised to mix water with baking soda into a paste, apply it to the stain, and let it sit overnight. So, that's exactly what I did. I was dismayed to check my countertop this morning, only to see that the baking soda didn't put a dent in the stain. However, the article also cautioned against using acidic solutions on granite (i.e. vinegar, etc). Does anyone know of an effective DIY or store bought cleaning agent that will remove this stain without damaging the granite? TIA

Comments (15)

• shirlpp
    14 days ago

Did you use hydrogen peroxide in the baking soda paste as well? Did you cover it with cling wrap?

• Mike Terryberry
    Original Author
    14 days ago

No. I wasn't aware that hydrogen peroxide was an option. Are you sure it's safe to use on granite? Also, why does it have to be covered with cling wrap? Is that due to fumes?

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    14 days ago

You want the #40 hydrogen peroxide from the beauty supply store, not the stuff in your medicine cabinet. The cling wrap just slows evaporation. Good luck.

• chispa
    14 days ago

I've had a similar white/gray/black speckled granite and I used Lysol with bleach to get out wine and other stains. Spray on, let sit for 5 minutes, wipe off and then wipe with damp paper towels a couple of times.

• Mike Terryberry
    Original Author
    14 days ago

Hi Chispa,

How well did the Lysol work? Please send me a link to the actual product so I can see if it's available in my area, thanks.

• Amanda Smith
    14 days ago