Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
musatta_carrozza

Need to remove grease stain from granite

Musatta Carrozza
6 years ago
After dinner found that overflow of homemade oil and vinegar dressing from a small bowl had stained our brand new Juperana Columbo granite countertops. This is our dream kitchen and are heartsick over this. Have never had granite before and did not know it would stain. Stone installer assured us it was properly sealed. Have tried to remove stain using baking soda paste overnight twice. Have ordered a grease removing product for granite from Dupont. My husband wants to try using a torch to heat the area. Any suggestions?

Comments (18)

• bubblyjock
    6 years ago

Did you try something simple like scrubbing with a brush and hot soapy water or a detergent of some sort? I'm no expert, so it's just a thought. How frustrating for you! I don't think heating it with a blow-torch would resolve the issue, though, as it's surely more likely to just bake the oils into the stone.

• bubblyjock
    6 years ago

take a look at this recent discussion - did you try a poultice?
    https://www.gardenweb.com/discussions/5258769/granite-sealing?n=2

• chispa
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

I have a granite counter outside, around our BBQ grill. The area gets stained with marinade and oils and then the stains gets "baked" by the CA sun as the counters face west. Every few months I get out my Lysol kitchen cleaner and 99% of the stains come up. I'll also use Clorox cleaner with bleach, which I leave on for about 10 minutes, scrub and rinse. I've never babied any granite I have owned.

• bemocked
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

If you are certain it is an oil mark, apply a citrus “degreaser” cleaning product, leave puddle over the oil mark for 10-15 minutes, wipe away, then repeat/reapply. After 5 or 6 cycles, I have seen many oil marks removed.